happy fallout

I wondered what life would be like after my show, when for so long it had been almost entirely consumed with preparations. It turns out, it’s pretty much the same minus the nervous energy and anxiety. I’ve still been spending a great deal of time in my studio, and that’s a great relief to me. I worried that I would be so exhausted that my art-making would take a hit for a while. Not the case at all. In fact, I have a full day of art planned, and the only reason I’m writing this blog is that I’m trying to be patient while some wet layers dry.

I started an online class this last Monday that has been exactly what I needed. Pauline Agnew is an artist from Cork, Ireland, and she’s teaching a class called Expressive Faces and Figures. If you’ve been following along at all, you’ll know that my work has gone in the direction of portraits lately, and although I feel very good about what I’ve been able to crank out, there’s a good deal of guesswork around how to make the paint do what I want it to do. I’m largely self-taught, so I feel like I’m learning primary through experimentation and curiosity. There’s actually nothing wrong with that. However, I’m feeling ready to learn from someone more skilled than myself so I can stop wasting so much paint.

Pauline is a truly gifted teacher. She carefully leads us through exercises and then gives such helpful feedback via our group’s Facebook page. I feel happily surprised at how much I have learned already. If you have the opportunity and you’re in a place where you’d like to explore this, I can’t recommend her highly enough.

And now, here’s a piece that I finished this week. I’ll be hanging it in the show soon. It’s a 16×20 mixed media piece on Ampersand cradled art board. I’m pricing it at $300 if any of you are interested.

full of love

Full of Love

Much love,

Terri

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in art for sale, art show

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

follow me on twitter
my images
You're very welcome to share my images as long as you link back to my blog and give proper attribution.
archives
categories
