belated new year’s resolution

I’ve never been the kind of person who makes New Year’s resolutions. Or at least I’ve never had much luck keeping them. I’m sure I’m not alone here. Resolutions seem like a giant set-up for failure to me. I read something from Anne Lamott on Facebook recently that resonated with me deeply:

I know you are planning to start a diet next Thursday, January 1st, I used to start diets, too. I hated to mention this to my then-therapist. She would say cheerfully, ” Oh, that’s great, honey. How much weight are you hoping to gain?”

I got rid of her sorry ass. No one talks to ME that way.

So, when the idea of a resolution popped into my brain this year, I gave myself a stern talking-to. It sounded like this:

Oh Terri, you silly goose. You know that will never work. YOU, my friend, are the kind of person who CANNOT follow through. You will only disappoint yourself and others. Now, go back to your regularly scheduled life and forget about this resolution nonsense.

Yeah, that was uplifting. I hate it when I talk to me that way.

So I’m ignoring that voice and going ahead with a resolution anyway. And it’s not a diet. My resolution is to produce one piece of art per week this year, starting this week. Sound good? It sounds good to me.

The truth is, I’ve been struggling quite a bit since I returned from Africa on Thanksgiving. My health has been terrible and I’ve barely been in my studio at all. I did make time for this little beauty as a Christmas present for my dad:

IMG_5926

He loved it and so did I.

I toyed with the idea of a resolution centered around health, but I think this is better. I take better care of myself when I’m immersed in art. I’m more alive.

So here I go. Anyone interested in joining me? I’d love to hear from you.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in art process, getting real, health
3 comments on “belated new year’s resolution
  1. Tarah Fulk says:

    What a Beautiful Painting !

  2. Oh I like that! The resolution & the painting!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

follow me on twitter
my images
You're very welcome to share my images as long as you link back to my blog and give proper attribution.
archives
categories
#mc_embed_signup{background:#fff; clear:left; font:14px Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif; } /* Add your own MailChimp form style overrides in your site stylesheet or in this style block. We recommend moving this block and the preceding CSS link to the HEAD of your HTML file. */

Subscribe to my mailing list

* indicates required
Email Address *
First Name
Last Name
Email Format
  • html
  • text
