art is my angel

IMG_4595

It’s been well over a month since I posted here. There is more than one reason for that. Part of it has to do with the fact that I’ve been a bit overcommitted. Part of the time I was away on vacation with limited internet. (This was wonderful.) But mostly it has to do with my state of mind. If I’m going to tell you the truth, I’ve been pretty depressed. The chemical kind of depression that doesn’t need any excuses to come and plop down in the middle of your chest and make a bed there. But I’m not going to get into that in too much depth. 

This post is to let you know that I’m still here, that I’m still painting. I was supposed to participate in a blog hop on Monday, but I just didn’t have it in me, and it’s best when I tell the truth about that instead of trying to pretend. I figured a late blog post of any kind is better than no blog post at all, but I’ll let you be the judge of that. 

I painted this painting yesterday when I was feeling particularly vulnerable and a little hopeless. It’s me and my angel, can you tell? She’s got her arm around me, reassuring me that everything will be OK. She tells me the truth, even the hard stuff, but she makes sure that it never swallows me whole. This is the place of art in my life. Art is my angel. 

I have more to say, but the words just aren’t cooperating. Hang in there with me, will you? I’ll come around sooner or later.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in art 101, getting real, health
12 comments on “art is my angel
  1. Juna says:

    Thank you for sharing this. So touching how you opened up, really courageous! I’ll hang in there with you, take your time. Your painting is so beautiful and moving and says it all…

    • Oh thank you Juna! It’s tempting to stay in my little hole, but that’s never very helpful. And maybe if more of us are honest about this, there will be less stigma around depression.

  2. lucy says:

    Hanging in there with you too wonderful terri! So courageous of you to be so honest x

  3. Iris says:

    Terri, big big hugs from me. I think I have a small understanding of what you’re going through (I don’t know if the depression I have experienced is chemical or otherwise, all I know is that it’s a big black hole and even a simple thing like brushing your teeth is a huge task). Thank you for sharing how you feel. And hugely well done for picking up the courage to create such beautiful and meaningful art. You’re an inspiration to me. xx

  4. Lynda says:

    loved seeing you back with your fabulous art works, and your latest angel. I wish there was less stigma about depression too, and more people who actually knew what it is and what it does. I keep quiet as it drives people away. We are the lucky ones though, we have our art:) You take care now and keep up those fabulous art works xx

  5. Love your painting, love your angel, love your honesty. I’m hanging around. You make a positive difference to my world. Thank you.❤️

  6. Hi Terri, thanks for sharing. I’ve had bad time, but can’t imagine the read depressed state. I applaud you for keeping making art. And such wonderful art too! Hope you feel better soon. Sending hugs!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Take a deep breath and get Doreen Virtue’s Chakra Clearing Meditation CD. Maybe it will clear out those negative energies.

  8. robynterry says:

    God bless you, Terri…praying the cloud lifts soon, hanging in as long as it takes, beautiful angel painting. Good for you for picking up the brush when you didn’t feel like it. It has to feel good to know you can still make something beautiful when you are feeling so down.

  9. Thank you ladies. What a gift to have such a supportive tribe of women who have my back. ❤

  10. Paty Brumm says:

    I love your angels and hope you get the hugs you need from them. They are with you every step of the way and I was told that if you need their help all you need to do is ask. They respect a person’s freewill so they can more easily help when you ask them.

  11. zincster says:

    Terri, let me know if there is anything I can do/offer to help. Tracey

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

follow me on twitter
my images
You're very welcome to share my images as long as you link back to my blog and give proper attribution.
archives
categories
#mc_embed_signup{background:#fff; clear:left; font:14px Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif; } /* Add your own MailChimp form style overrides in your site stylesheet or in this style block. We recommend moving this block and the preceding CSS link to the HEAD of your HTML file. */

Subscribe to my mailing list

* indicates required
Email Address *
First Name
Last Name
Email Format
  • html
  • text
