evolution

I always love it when people post progressive photos showing the process of the artist as a piece takes shape. I’m not very good at doing that because I kind of get lost and because I use an intuitive process that doesn’t really lend itself to “steps”. My process is more rambling than linear.

However I do have a before and after (Just a tiny piece of the transformation) of my latest painting. It’ll give you a feel for the evolution of the piece. Check it out:

before (after about three or four layers of acrylic inks)

before (after about three or four layers of acrylic inks)

after ("consider the birds" 11x14 mixed media on Ampersand artist panel)

after (“consider the birds” 11×14 mixed media on Ampersand artist panel)

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in art 101
One comment on “evolution
  1. Iris says:

    I love seeing the evolution of paintings, especially intuitive ones because they could be ‘done’ at any stage really, so each step is interesting to see.

    I find it hard to remember to take pics as well. If I come to a natural rest I try to remember to take a picture, but if I plan to take pictures as I go along I find it interrupts my creative flow.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

follow me on twitter
my images
You're very welcome to share my images as long as you link back to my blog and give proper attribution.
archives
categories
#mc_embed_signup{background:#fff; clear:left; font:14px Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif; } /* Add your own MailChimp form style overrides in your site stylesheet or in this style block. We recommend moving this block and the preceding CSS link to the HEAD of your HTML file. */

Subscribe to my mailing list

* indicates required
Email Address *
First Name
Last Name
Email Format
  • html
  • text
