beginnings

Today is the first day of Art 101: Artists Supporting Artists. From this day until sometime in September I’ll be cranking out art at an unprecedented rate (at least for me.) I’ve set up a Twitter account, an Etsy shop, and a Facebook artist page.

So what prompted this madness?

Last month I decided to be more intentional about my art. I hope to someday earn enough money at my craft to allow Dave to work fewer hours. (Right now he works anywhere from 50-55 hours a week. Not fun.) The first thing I did was to purchase a digital copy of Kelly Rae Roberts’ book Flying Lessons: Tips and Tricks to Help Your Creative Biz Soar. One of the benefits of the ebook is that you gain access to a Facebook group of likeminded artist who support one another. Someone in this group had the idea to grow our businesses by challenging one another to create 101 pieces of art in 101 days. The idea took off, and here we are.

I have been blown away by the spirit of cooperation and support demonstrated by this group of women. It’s truly been a revelation and a welcome kick in the butt to get serious.

***

Today, as I dove into the creative work of this challenge, I decided to work on multiple pieces at once. That way I can paint a layer and while I’m waiting for that layer to dry I can work on something else. This is a really productive process for me. And now for the results from my first day.

Drumroll…

My finished piece (remember) that I posted on Etsy:

IMG_3728

Two layers in on this one:

IMG_3737

One layer on this one:

IMG_3740

Tonight I’m feeling really satisfied and hopeful. Bring on day two.

***I won’t be posting every day, in case you were getting a little nervous, but I will be showing up here on a regular basis. 🙂

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in art 101
2 comments on “beginnings
  1. Jessica says:

    What a great idea!
    I wonder what would happen if I took that approach to song writing.

  2. I’m guessing the world would be a lot more musical and happy. 🙂 Thanks for reading Jess.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

follow me on twitter
my images
You're very welcome to share my images as long as you link back to my blog and give proper attribution.
archives
categories
